Claim without statement - other side can dictate line of play?
A TD (as defender) told claimer that he could dictate the play because claimer had not made a statement (e.g. "drawing trumps"). Now, I know this not the law but I am dimly aware of some law like this in the past - perhaps just for rubber bridge. I don't think this was in the law book when I first directed (1975 law book).
Was this ever in a Duplicate Bridge Law Book (if so when)? Or was it only Rubber Bridge Laws?
Comments
This provision was in the 1963 Rubber Bridge Laws although it was not in the preceeding 1948 Rubber Bridge Laws or subsequent versions. I cannot find the full 1963 Duplicate Bridge Rules to see if this temporary change was included there but it seems unlikely as even the 1949 laws required the director to be summoned
That makes sense - that was a time when rubber bridge was widely played, and many of our older members will have first played under those rules.