Home EBU TDs

Claim without statement - other side can dictate line of play?

A TD (as defender) told claimer that he could dictate the play because claimer had not made a statement (e.g. "drawing trumps"). Now, I know this not the law but I am dimly aware of some law like this in the past - perhaps just for rubber bridge. I don't think this was in the law book when I first directed (1975 law book).

Was this ever in a Duplicate Bridge Law Book (if so when)? Or was it only Rubber Bridge Laws?

Comments

  • This provision was in the 1963 Rubber Bridge Laws although it was not in the preceeding 1948 Rubber Bridge Laws or subsequent versions. I cannot find the full 1963 Duplicate Bridge Rules to see if this temporary change was included there but it seems unlikely as even the 1949 laws required the director to be summoned

  • That makes sense - that was a time when rubber bridge was widely played, and many of our older members will have first played under those rules.

  • A correspondent writes

    I've looked up the 1963 Duplicate Laws and there's nothing of the sort there.

    Thanks Richard

  • Agree. I've got a copy of the 1963 Laws and Law 72 says that if a claim is contested then the TD should (paraphrased)
    a. Require declarer to leave his hand face up
    b. Require declarer to repeat any statement made
    c. Not allow declarer to benefit from any knowledge acquired after the claim
    d. Not allow declarer to make any statement inconsistent with a previous statement. Not to make any successful play play which depends on a specific card being found in a hand (unless someone has already shown out)
    e. Adjudicate as equitably as possible to both sides but any doubt goes in favour of the defenders.

Sign In or Register to comment.