Home EBU TDs

Established revoke information disclosure

If declarer calls you having revoked a few tricks previously and at the end of the discussion a defender then asks which suit the revoke occurred in, is this information required/able to be disclosed to the defender or not (and why)?

Comments

  • There is no obligation to reveal this, nor any right to know.

    Law 61C: "A claim of a revoke does not automatically warrant inspection of quitted tricks"

    Also Law 66C: "until play ceases, the cards of quitted tricks may not be inspected (except at the Director’s specific instruction; for example, if necessary to verify a claim of a revoke)."

    The director would normally only do this if the revoke was not established and needs correction.

    If pushed by the declarer, director should explain the revoke rules and what the penalty would be ("if there was a revoke"). The question of whether there was a revoke and the adjustment is settled once play has ceased.

    See also: https://forums.ebu.co.uk/discussion/1712/on-when-we-make-a-determination-of-rectification

Sign In or Register to comment.