Home EBU TDs

Online Misbid then realise it was a misbid.

Just checking my understanding. Online Teams, East opens 1C (strong), South overcalls 1H intended natural but a few seconds later, remembers its H & S systemically so alerts accordingly. Consequently, EW miss their 4S game.

My understanding is that this is just rub of the green and EW have no recourse to damage? If this had happened before, with South forgetting this (unusual overcall) system, would that affect anything? NS are a very regular partnership.

Comments

  • You are correct that EW have no recourse if South has departed from their agreement, whether deliberately or unintentionally. However, if they have made a habit of this, the TD might rule that their actual agreement is actually something like "hearts, possibly with spades as well". In that case the TD might look at what would have happened if EW had been given that information, and possibly adjust on that basis.

  • edited May 30

    The Blue Book recommendation/regulation

    9 A 4 Players correcting their own misexplanations
    It is possible to give the wrong explanation, even when players are explaining their own calls. It is possible that the explanation will be a description of the player’s hand but not the correct explanation according to the partnership agreements. This can occur if the player forgets the system, or if they ‘misclick’ and do not make their intended call.
    The opponents are entitled to a correct explanation of the agreement. If the player giving the explanation becomes aware of their error, then they must correct the explanation. Law 20F4 allows the correction to be made in Clarification Period, but online, the duration of this is controlled only by the opening leader, and the correction needs to be available to the defenders before the opening lead. On the other hand, to correct the explanation during the auction may create unauthorised information due to delays.
    The suggested procedure for a player aware of having given an incorrect explanation is: to replace, or append to, the incorrect explanation with ‘WRONG explanation’ as soon as possible; to give on request the correct explanation to the opponents, making it clear that this is the explanation of the partnership agreements, not the player’s intended meaning.

Sign In or Register to comment.