Void board? Score?
Opener pulls out 1d and then says they did not mean to bid that. You ask what they meant to call. Opener says 1s.
You decide that is not mechanical (not adjacent bids) but realise you should not have asked that at the table (lots of UI).
Reasonable to decide board is unplayable? Is so what score to assign?
You decide that is not mechanical (not adjacent bids) but realise you should not have asked that at the table (lots of UI).
Reasonable to decide board is unplayable? Is so what score to assign?
Comments
Av+/Av+
Happened to me yesterday. Late, tired, mistakes happen.
I do find the line between mechanical error and loss of concentration quite a fine one.
Surely this should be Av-/Av-? Both sides are at fault! (Twice in the case of opener, who shouldn't have answered the question.)
My default response (as a player) when someone tries to retract a bid is to call the director, unless it was obviously a mechanical error – normally the difference between a mechanical error and a lapse of concentration is something that you can't determine without talking to the player away from the table, so you need a Director to ask the questions, even if the retraction eventually becomes allowed.
"you" in the OP is the TD. The TD decided that the TD was at fault for asking the question of offender at the table - the player cannot be faulted for answering the TD's question.
Ah, I see – I was interpreting "you" as opener's LHO. I guess I'm too used to seeing these posts written up from the point of view of a player rather than of a director.
I agree that this should be ruled as Director's error, in this case.