Home EBU TDs

Wrong dummy

Yesterday after the lead was faced correctly declarer started to spread their hand, whilst the rules are very clear about this happening after an incorrect lead I could not find a clear ruling for it happening when the lead was correct. The director went with the same rule as for the incorrect lead and made declarer become the dummy but I felt that if declarer can't have penalty cards they could just pick up the cards and we could all carry on as normal. Please clarify for me.


  • Hi Randal, you are correct, if declarer spreads his hand, then the cards are picked up and the correct declarer is still declarer and there are no penalty cards. Dummy is then spread and play commences. The cards exposed become authorised information (if the opposition are able to remember them).
  • Thank you for the response

Sign In or Register to comment.