Pause by 3rd Hand at Trick 1
Dealer East, Unfav Vul, You are North holding AQ9 AQJ7632 6 94. The bidding goes P-P-1D-4H-5D passed out. You lead the AH and Dummy has 1062 108 K83 KQJ72. Now South thinks for 84 seconds (on RealBridge) and plays the KH. North now finds the only successful line cashing AS and a spade to partners King. Partner had K874 K54 52 10863.
EW complained but the TD ruling was results stands. This is based on WB126.96.36.199, "Whether or not declarer plays quickly from dummy at trick one, a pause by third hand should not be considered to transmit any unauthorised information to partner, nor to convey potentially misleading information to declarer. No disclaimer is necessary. The freedom for third hand to think about the deal generally at trick one applies irrespective of their holding. Thus, for example, it is perfectly legitimate to think about the deal generally at trick one even if third hand holds a singleton in the suit led."
Can this really be right here given this hesitation surely conveyed UI?